back caretBlog

The 5 Stages of Security Grief

A security professional's guide to coping with a breach.

When it comes to securing the enterprise, the attackers have the advantage: they only need one attack vector to penetrate a network, which means you have to defend against ... well, everything.

That means perimeter security alone isn't going to cut it, yet many organizations haven't invested in more comprehensive network visibility.

As breach after breach hits the news, security professionals are falling into a classic pattern of grief. Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression—sound familiar? Luckily, there's a light at the end of the tunnel.

Learn about the Five Stages of Security Grief and the serenity of Acceptance in the full article on

ExtraHop Reveal(x) Live Activity Map

Stop Breaches 87% Faster

Investigate a live attack in the full product demo of ExtraHop Reveal(x), network detection and response, to see how it accelerates workflows.

Start Demo

Sign Up to Stay Informed